The Violent Sleep Of Reason Episode 1, 3.22.17

Meshuggah’s “The Violent Sleep of Reason”

The premiere episode of The Bad Penny’s “The Violent Sleep of Reason” radio show featured the song after which the show was named, as well as new cuts by King of Asgard, Woe and Dodecahedron.

Listen to the first episode of “The Violent Sleep of Reason” here.

The program airs early Wednesday mornings from 1 a.m. to 3 a.m. Mountain Time in the U.S. It also airs live online here.

Listen to past editions of “The Violent Sleep of Reason” here.

Below is the breakdown of songs played on the inaugural show, with a few notes about each track. For Radio Boise’s list of the songs along with air times, go here and click on “The Violent Sleep of Reason.”


1. Meshuggah – “The Violent Sleep of Reason”
• Swedish extreme metal
from The Violent Sleep of Reason (Nuclear Blast, 2016)

2. King of Asgard – “Death … and a New Sun”
• Swedish folk-based blackened death metal
from Taudr (Troll Music, 2017)

3. Woe – “Drown Us with Greatness”
• Brooklyn black metal
from Hope Attrition (Vendetta, 2017)

4. Délétère – “II – Le Lai de la Vermine”
• Quebec black metal
from Per Aspera Ad Pestilentiam (Sepulchral Production, 2017)

5. Dodecahedron – “Hexahedron”
• Dutch black metal
from Kwintessens (Seasons of Mist, 2017)

6. Crimson Throne – “Shadows of Ruin”
• British black metal band
from Crimson Throne – EP (Apocalyptic Witchcraft, 2017)

7. Deafheaven – “Come Back”
• San Francisco shoegaze black metal
from New Bermuda (Sony Music Labels Inc., 2015)

8. This Will Destroy You – “Dustism”
• Texas post-rock
from Another Language (Suicide Squeeze Records, 2014)

9. Khemmis – “Above the Water”
• Denver doom metal
from Hunted (20 Buck Spin, 2016)

10. Throes – “The Word”
• Boise post-hardcore metal
from To Dust (self-released, 2015)

11. Ashen Horde – “Arisen”
• Los Angeles progressive black metal
from “The Alchemist” single (Mandol Records, 2017)

12. Ascended Dead – “The Promised Time”
• San Diego death metal
from Abhorrent Manifestation (Dark Descent Records, 2017)

13. The Moon and the Nightspirit – “Mystérion Mega”
• Hungary pagan-folk
from Metanoia (Deluxe Edition) (Auerbach, 2017)

14. Telekinetic Yeti – “Electronaut”
• Iowa doom metal
from Abominable (Sump Pump, 2017)

15. Without Waves – “Sativa Sunrise”
• Chicago post-prog metal
from Scab Platter (Prosthetic, 2017)

16. Obituary – “Sentence Day”
• Florida death metal
from Obituary (Relapse, 2017)

17. Warbringer – “Remain Violent”
• Los Angeles thrash metal
from Woe To The Vanquished (Napalm Records, 2017)

18. Ghost Bath – “Ambrosial”
• North Dakota black metal
from Starmourner (Nuclear Blast Records, 2017)

19. Pallbearer – “I Saw the End”
• Arkansas doom metal
from Heartless (Profound Lore, 2017)

Interested in getting played on “The Violent Sleep of Reason”? Reach out to korzeck at gmail dot com.

One Response to “The Violent Sleep Of Reason Episode 1, 3.22.17”

  1. […] musings on music and more « Best Albums Of 2016: Cobalt, Ancst, Black Fast Violent Sleep Of Reason Episode 1, 3.22.17 […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: